Shadow Judging Bulletin

Hello to our Shadow Judges for 2021! You will shortly receive the first of a fortnightly Shadow Judging Bulletin which is being sent to the judging groups to share communication about the program. Here’s a snapshot from it.

The shortlisted books have been dispatched to your school or library and you will be notified if some titles are yet to be supplied.

Those of you judging the Picture Book of the Year category will be sent a special ‘ideas’ document with wonderful discussion prompts for this category, developed especially for the CBCA Shadow Judging program by Teacher Librarian Jo Panckridge. Remember you have complimentary access to Story Box Library if you are judging this category as well.

We are also in the process of organising the guest authors and illustrators who will be available to give an online presentation to your group. Once that is confirmed, you will be put in touch with the creator to arrange a mutually agreeable time and date.  CBCA VIC Branch will cover the cost of this presentation.

Enjoy the coming weeks and happy reading!

CBCA VIC Branch 2021 Shadow Judging Sub committee

A big VIC welcome to our NSW schools

The CBCA Shadow Judging program welcomes the first two NSW schools taking part in this year’s trial, with St Georges Basin Public School and McCallums Hill Public School confirmed starters.

St Georges Basin PS will be reviewing the Picture Book category and McCallums Hill PS will focus on Early Childhood titles. We look forward to the confirmation of our other NSW participant school.

Our Younger Reader Nominees

Entries in this category may be fiction, drama or poetry and should be appropriate in style and content for readers from the middle to upper primary years. 7-12 years.

Some of the titles in this category may only be suitable for readers who are in the upper primary years as they contain mature themes, including violence. Parental guidance is recommended.

Our Older Reader Titles

Entries in Older Reader category may be fiction, drama or poetry and should be appropriate in style and content for readers in their secondary years of schooling. They are title that are suitable for readers aged 13-18 years.

Note: Books in this category are for mature readers and some may deal with particularly challenging themes including violence and suicide. Parental guidance is recommended

The Eve Pownall Award

Entries in this category are books which have the prime intention of documenting factual material with consideration given to imaginative presentation, interpretation and variation of style. For all ages to 18 years.

We are looking forward to hearing the opinions of our Shadow Judges on these great titles.