About Us

The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a not for profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The CBCA presents annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children’s literature.

In 1946 the CBCA established annual book awards to promote books of high literary and artistic quality. These awards are now the most influential and highly respected in Australia. Each year, across Australia, the CBCA brings children and books together celebrating Book Week to bring words, images and stories into the hearts and minds of children and adults.

The Children’s Book Council Victorian Branch ran the Shadow Judging program in 2020 as a trial, and this year we are back with 17 Victorian schools, and three guest schools from NSW, participating.

Shadow Judges are groups of readers who have been selected to be part of a CBCA Book of the Year program. They use the CBCA Awards criteria to read, discuss and share a response to each shortlisted title and then select their own winner for the category they are judging.

The categories are:

Older Reader         Books for Secondary School students

Younger Reader     Books for 7–12 years

Early Childhood     Books for pre and beginning readers aged 0–6 years

Picture Book          Books for 0–18 years – the text and illustrations work together to tell the story

New Illustrator      Books for 0–18 years for the work of a first time children’s book illustrator

Eve Pownall           Books for 0–18 years that are based on factual information 

If you require any information about the CBCA and the Shadow Judging program please email the office using the email vic@cbca.org.au.

For any technical queries about the Shadow Judging website please use the email info@cbcashadowjudging.com.

%d bloggers like this: